Sisters film review

UK release date: 12/12/15

Runtime: 118 minutes

Directed by: Jason Moore

Starring: Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Ike Barinholtz, John Cena, Maya Rudolph, James Brolin, Dianne Wiest

If you’re looking for a film to make you laugh, especially with friends, and not much else, then you’ll like this film.

The plot, what little there is, is pretty cliche, but, to be fair, they’re aiming for funny not a great story. The conflict is dealt with pretty much as soon as it is introduced. The second half waned in the funny, but it just managed to hold on.

Tina Fey and Amy poehler are gold together. All around me in the cinema people were laughing out loud. On walking out I heard someone saying, “I didn’t expect it to be that good.”

There are some cheesy/cringe moments, but I’m betting any comedy film of this kind will have these. What someone finds hilarious someone else think it’s garbage.

It’s a funny film that’s enjoyable to watch at the time, but ultimately forgettable.

To sum up, Funny, No story, Hilarious main characters

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

(Check out the Watched page under Movies to see my other reviews!)

11 thoughts on “Sisters film review

  1. Mattamatix 12/12/2015 / 5:17 pm

    Just come back from seeing this… thought it was pretty awful myself but hey ho, that’s comedy films for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 12/12/2015 / 5:20 pm

      Yeah, I know people who would’ve hated this film.

      I found the first half funny. Second half seemed a little long and lacklustre.

      Like

  2. rakiyang 12/12/2015 / 5:18 pm

    I really like Tina. I don’t know much about Amy. This sounds like my kind of movie. I like movies that entertain I don’t really expect much else. Which 2016 release are you looking forward to the most?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 12/12/2015 / 5:23 pm

      I haven’t watched many films with this duo in. I quite liked Amy in this, but that’s because I identified more with her character.

      Oooh, so many! Deadpool, Kung fu panda 3, Finding Dory.

      I heard there’s going to be My big fat greek wedding 2. I loved the first one.

      Tarzan…Beauty and the beast. There’s too many to list!!!

      You?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. rakiyang 14/12/2015 / 11:45 am

    Yes! Those sound awesome. I’m excited for Deadpool, Tarzan, Suicide Squad (I think this is the one I’m most excited about), pretty much any marvel movie… there were others, but I can’t remember anymore. Oh no!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/12/2015 / 2:34 pm

      How could I forget Suicide squad?! I’m super excited for that too. I saw a trailer and the Joker looks AMAZING!

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakiyang 14/12/2015 / 2:57 pm

        Yes!! He actually feels creepy, and scary, and crazy. Which is how the joker felt when I used to watch the cartoons when I was little.

        Like

Leave a Reply

