Krampus film review

UK release date: 4/12/15

Runtime: 98 minutes

Directed by: Michael Dougherty

Starring: Adam Scott, Toni Collette, David Koechner, Allison Tolman, Conchata Ferrell, Emjay Anthony, Stefania LaVie Owen, Krista Stadler

I had zilch expectations for this film. Horror is probably the genre that I’m the most harsh in judging.

This film started and I was completely shocked by how good it was. The pacing was brilliant. You didn’t have to wait too long for it to get going and it balanced the characters interactions well. It was tight and had no unnecessary scenes.

I liked all the characters and despite being the cliche set of characters, they seemed somehow not cliche.

Five minutes in, I was settled in, glued to the screen and finally excited by what I’d originally thought was going to be a sucky film.

Which is why I’m so angry and disappointed…

This had the makings of an amazing horror film. It had an amazing plot and believable ideas with a great cast of well acted characters. (I would actually love to read this in novel form.)

And they ruined it by trying to inject humour into it. They tried to make it funny. And I say funny with all the disgust I would for broccoli on pizza! Bluegh!

It was so good until thirty minutes in and we meet the ‘scary’ monsters. I’m so annoyed what they did with them. It could’ve been a fantastic horror film if not for that. The pacing was still even that and so were the characters and story.

To sum up, great plot, great characters, great pacing, ruined with humour -_-

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Black Christmas film review

7 thoughts on “Krampus film review

  1. emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 10:05 am

    Aww no! It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this. I kinda like horror/comedy films so maybe I’ll have more luck. I also would happily eat broccoli on a pizza so maybe I’m just weird?! NEVER pineapple though! 🙂

    Another sterling review Jen, you’re funny!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/12/2015 / 10:16 am

      I love horror/comedy. If you haven’t watched Zombieland then I recommend that it’s amazing.

      I just felt like this would’ve better as just straight horror.

      Bluegh, Broccoli?! Pineapple?! What is this blasphemy?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 11:00 am

        Zombieland is good 🙂 Severance is good too. And do you like Hot Fuzz / Shaun of the Dead etc.?

        I love broccoli!! Lol it’s probably one of my favourite veggies. I make a mean broccoli, cauliflower and cheese soup 🙂 it is amazing with cheese!!

        I hate fruit on pizzas however…..that is total blasphemy!!!!! 😀 agreed!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/12/2015 / 11:05 am

        Yes I love them, particularly Hot fuzz!

        Cabbage and mashed swede and carrots are my go to veggies.

        The soup sounds good!

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 11:25 am

        Hot Fuzz is my favourite of the trilogy too 🙂 so many funny lines!

        Mmmmm, sounds delicious, lovely winter veg! I am obsessed with potatoes too 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/12/2015 / 6:16 pm

        Yes, potatoes! *Drools*

        In order of favourites …Hot fuzz, Shawn of the dead and The world’s end. I was quite disappointed by The World’s end.

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 6:53 pm

        Snap!!! Literally exactly the same 🙂 same with feeling disappointed with The World’s End. I loved the first half an hour or so, not so much after that though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

