The coal Elf by Maria DeVivo book review

16090776

Ember Skye is a fed up teenage Coal Elf with a big ashy chip on her shoulder. Having been torn away from a carefree life and forced into a world of dirt and darkness has started to get the best of her. And being the only girl-elf working as a coal miner at the North Pole doesn’t help much either!

Then there’s Sturd: a power-hungry, twisted elf with a checkered past and a serious grudge against Ember. Slowly but surely, his maniacal tendencies are revealed, leaving Ember with the sacred “Naughty List” literally in her lap.

When a mysterious illness threatens to decimate elves both Above and Underground, Ember is thrust into a journey that will see her confront the literal and figurative demons of her past and lead her to the head of the North Pole himself.

Yes! Santa is real. But this isn’t your childhood Christmas tale.

Since starting my blog, I’ve read books that I’ve not been enthralled with, but have still found things I’ve enjoyed in them.

This is the first book where I considered abandoning and doing a review of not finishing it. I persevered though! (Although, I admit I did skim read occasionally.)

The synopsis which is fantastic and exciting hyped me up for an exciting adventure…Yeah…

The writing is good besides the overuse of the exclamation mark and the world ‘Elf’. I’ve never hated a word so much.

This world is completely comprised of Elves and yet the Author constantly used Elf. The Elfcar, Elf girl, Elf year and so on. Elf! Elf! Elf! ELF! It drove me insane!

There was the barest of stories, barely anything happened and what happened was never explained properly or resolved. The ending is pretty much the same as the beginning. The question WHY was prominent throughout my entire read.

I didn’t like any of the characters, finding them, and their actions, unrealistic. At times it looked like there was something interesting happening, but it fizzled to nothing.

I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone.

To sum up, boring, acceptable writing, annoying characters, The word ‘Elf

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? No

Stars: 2/6

3 thoughts on “The coal Elf by Maria DeVivo book review

Leave a Reply

