Inside out film review

UK release date: 21/6/15

Runtime: 94 minutes

Directed by: Pete Docter

Starring: Amy Poehler, Phyllis Smith, Bill Hader, Lewis Black, Mindy Kaling, Kaitlyn Dias

Riley (Kaitlyn Dias) is a happy, hockey-loving 11-year-old Midwestern girl, but her world turns upside-down when she and her parents move to San Francisco. Riley’s emotions, led by Joy (Amy Poehler), try to guide her through this difficult, life-changing event.

For me, this film would’ve been worth watching just for the Pixar short, ‘I lava you’, at the start. I really, really lava it.

It isn’t my favourite Pixar film, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. And it’s a very memorable film for it’s complex and emotional, (obviously), and unique plot.

To me, Joy is the most heartbreaking character. She just wants Riley to be happy. My favourite emotion has to be Anger because he’s hilarious in a very angry way.

The film is well paced, bright and colourful, and beautifully animated. It’s imaginative and its wittiness always managed to make me giggle. And it managed to make me cry too.

This is a film definitely one for all the family to watch. I hope they make a sequel. There’s so many directions they could go with this!

To sum up, unique plot, bright colourful, funny and sad

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The good Dinosaur film review

7 thoughts on “Inside out film review

    • Combustible reviews 05/12/2015 / 7:59 pm

      I think Mad Max may have been my favourite of the year, (so far), but Inside out is definitely up there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 05/12/2015 / 8:01 pm

        I agree Mad Max is my favourite, Beasts of No Nation is the best i have seen though

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 05/12/2015 / 8:04 pm

        Mad Max was worth it just for the guitar dude, haha.

        I’ve not heard of Beasts of no nation. *Proceeds to look it up*

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 05/12/2015 / 8:18 pm

        it is a hard watch,

        i don’t think a day has gone past since seeing Mad Max without me saying ‘What a Day What a Lovely Day’

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

