Carol film review

UK release date: 27/11/15

Runtime: 118 minutes

Directed by: Todd Haynes

Starring: Cate Blanchett, Rooney Mara, Sarah Paulson, Kyle Chandler

I feel like I watched a completely different film to everyone else. People have raved about this film. It got a standing ovation at its premiere apparently. I didn’t see what everyone else saw.

The film has a melancholy aura about it the entire way through. Everything seemed muted, even the actresses emotions. Their faces barely moved.

I didn’t feel any passion throughout the film. I’m even sure what the film is about specifically. Every major part of the film is downplayed. It’s well made, but it just feels directionless. It felt like nothing spectacular happened.

I watch a wide variety of films. I don’t need massively dramatic moments, but this felt really empty.

The only thing I liked was the beautiful music score which sets the tone of the film throughout.

To sum up, shallow plot, slow, passionless

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The Danish girl film review

8 thoughts on “Carol film review

  1. filmfunkel 04/12/2015 / 10:05 pm

    Films applauded the world over which only get a “Who farted?” expression out of me – those really are the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rakiyang 05/12/2015 / 1:31 am

    Hmmm I’ve noticed you haven’t really watched any films that are “worth the watch” yet. I hope you find a good one!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 05/12/2015 / 7:44 am

      You mean at the cinema? I have seen some worth it, but not recently.

      I’m watching Inside out today. You can’t go wrong with Pixar, right? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakiyang 05/12/2015 / 1:15 pm

        Just from reading your reviews.
        Yay! That movie was really good! I actually liked it a lot more than Minions.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. garethrhodes 06/12/2015 / 7:17 pm

    I’ll listen to the soundtrack instead of watching the film then. It’s a shame to hear this one doesn’t live up to the quality of its leading ladies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/12/2015 / 7:35 pm

      My opinion is of the minority though it seems. The music is beautiful though. It was the first thing I noticed when it started.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

