Victor Frankenstein film review

UK release date: 3/12/15

Runtime: 110 minutes

Directed by: Paul McGuigan

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, James McAvoy, Jessica Brown Findlay, Andrew Scott, Charles Dance

I’ve mixed feelings about this film. I loved the characters, the story not so much. It was a bit meh.

It starts brilliantly, amazingly well and then we have a shockingly dull middle, (yeah, I went there), and, by the time we get to the ending, which is satisfying, any impact was zapped from it. B)

I think the reason I still sort of liked this film is Igor (Daniel Radcliffe), and Victor Frankenstein (James McAvoy). Not only were their individuals portrays absolutely electrifying, (Yeah…again.), their dynamic was amazing. I almost feel it was worth seeing just for them, almost, but it isn’t worth seeing in the cinema.

I’m actually really sad because they did such engaging job, but it still didn’t change that it was a dull, unsurprising plot.

To sum up, dull plot, amazing acting

Was it worth the watch? Unfortunately not, even though Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy are fantastic.

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

12 thoughts on “Victor Frankenstein film review

  1. filmfunkel 03/12/2015 / 7:08 pm

    Love your humor, it had me stitches – oh no I didn’t 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      • filmfunkel 03/12/2015 / 7:26 pm

        Are you saying you wouldn’t go out on a limb for me? (I am so sorry, that was terrible!) XD

        Like

      • filmfunkel 03/12/2015 / 8:01 pm

        Nice. 🙂 Thanks for telling me. (glad someone has my hunchback)

        Liked by 1 person

      • filmfunkel 03/12/2015 / 8:23 pm

        Cut it out, now I’m all bashful.

        *blushes and runs away like little kid*

        Like

  2. emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 10:04 am

    I won’t make a special effort to see this but maybe when it’s on Netflix or something 🙂 I like both actors, especially Daniel Radcliffe and nice to hear their performances were great (as usual!)

    Brilliant review Jen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 10:58 am

        I barely ever go to the cinema anymore, I get so neurotic about people making noise and I hate all the adverts. I really am turning into a grumpy old woman ha ha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/12/2015 / 11:06 am

        The times that I go there is barely anybody there so I don’t tend to have that issue.

        I am definitely a grumpy old women, but I think they have all the fun so I’m OK with it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 11:25 am

        I like your mantra!!! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

