A Christmas carol by Charles Dickens book review

5326

A Christmas Carol tells the story of a bitter old miser named Ebenezer Scrooge

A Christmas carol has a very specific message and it’s short and to the point.

The writing is enjoyable and easily understood despite being wrote in the 1800’s. I’ve read that some people struggled with the difference in words, but I’d disagree. They’re a few old style words, but ninety percent is written in plain, understandable English.

I did feel Scrooge character progression changed very quickly and they spoke and reacted very dramatically, but that’s probably because of the style of writing back then.

I think I would’ve liked it longer more in-depth, but on the other hand, I love the quickness of it and how it doesn’t mess around. It aims to teach you a lesson and does just that.

Like a lot of people, I watched the films first and I’m delighted by how well they all, (or all the ones I’ve watched), have followed the book.

Dickens has a wit about his writing and I will be reading more by him. This is definitely a book to read over Christmas. It’s also one that would be good to read as a family.

To sum up, A quick, heartwarming and enjoyable read.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Every Christmas!

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The Muppet Christmas carol film review

A Christmas carol of the living dead book review

10 thoughts on “A Christmas carol by Charles Dickens book review

      • emmakwall 02/12/2015 / 3:23 pm

        I might have a charity shop search and see if I can’t find it, thanks Jen! Have you changed your blog layout too?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 02/12/2015 / 3:37 pm

        Yep. I picked a festive one for December then I’ll change back to my everyday one in the New year.

        Have you noticed when you scroll down it looks like the snow’s falling?

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 02/12/2015 / 3:38 pm

        As soon as I asked that question I looked again and noticed the snow falling!!! 🙂

        It looks beautiful, love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 02/12/2015 / 3:54 pm

        There’s another festive theme option too if you’re interested!

        Like

Leave a Reply

