Cowboys and aliens film review

UK release date: 11/8/11

Runtime: 118 minutes

Directed by: Jon Favreau

Starring: Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, Olivia Wilde, Sam Rockwell, Adam Beach, Noah Ringer, Clancy Brown, Paul Dano

This film is available on Netflix at the time of this review.

I was going to start this review by saying how well this follows the book until I realized the book is based on the film.

I’m feeling pretty confident that I’m not spoiling anything by saying there’s Cowboys and there’s aliens in this film.

Although it feels like they’re play acting at Cowboys. And the aliens aren’t in it much. In fact, for being 118 minutes long, it doesn’t seem like much happens.

I feel like they came up with the setting and Cowboys vs Aliens and not much reason why they’re fighting. The plot is very shallow and the reasons we’re giving for the aliens presence is ridiculous.

The most interesting characters were Woodrow (Harrison Ford) and Nat (Adam Beach), but only just.

Harrison Ford’s perfomance is the only that stood out to me because he made me laugh. (It’s really hard not to see Daniel Craig as James Bond!)

There’s not much backstory to the entire cast. There isn’t even enough mindless action to enjoy either.

The entire film has a lacklustre feel about it and is pretty forgettable. It’s more enjoyable than the book, but that isn’t much of a compliment.

To sum up, poor plot, dull, flimsy characters

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Cowboys and aliens book review

5 thoughts on “Cowboys and aliens film review

  1. rakiyang 01/12/2015 / 12:19 am

    When I watched this movie I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to take it seriously or if it was some type of comedy. I’ve watched it a few times, it makes excellent background noise. I didn’t find it all bad, once I got past the initial awkwardness and didn’t thinking too much about the plot it was entertaining enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. garethrhodes 03/12/2015 / 5:38 pm

    Here I am, agreeing with you again. It’s hard to ignore a film that’s headed up by James Bond and Indiana Jones, sadly, it’s all to easy to forget. Dull as dishwater.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/12/2015 / 5:50 pm

      ‘Dull as Dishwater’. YES, exactly. We’re going to have to talk about this whole agreeing with me thing. o.o

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

