Weekly update

It’s almost December! Meaning Christmas themed books and film galore!

This week’s books –

Wednesday: A Christmas carol by Charles Dickens

A Christmas Carol tells the story of a bitter old miser named Ebenezer Scrooge and his transformation resulting from a supernatural visit by the ghost of his former business partner Jacob Marley and the Ghosts of Christmases Past, Present and Yet to Come.

Next sunday: Hogfather by Terry Pratchett

It’s the night before Hogswatch. And its too quiet.

Where is the big jolly fat man? Why is Death creeping down chimneys and trying to say Ho Ho Ho? The darkest night of the year is getting a lot darker…

Susan the gothic governess has got to sort it out by morning, otherwise there won’t be a morning. Ever again…The 20th Discworld novel is a festive feast of darkness and Death (but with jolly robins and tinsel too).

As they say: ‘You’d better watch out…

This week’s films –

Monday: Cowboys and aliens. We’ll see how this matches up to the book.

Tuesday: Christmas with the Coopers. First Christmas film!! Exciting!

Wednesday: The Muppet Christmas carol

Thursday: Victor Frankenstein. I’ve been seeing Ad trailers for this everywhere and safe to say I’m hyped about it!

I’m not sure what’ll be out in the cinema for the following days, but, whatever it is, I’ll be watching it!

Also, I’d mulling over doing an ebook giveaway, but learnt that I can’t gift ebooks through Amazon (UK). Anyone know another site which I could do this through? I’m really, really, really, disappointed that I can’t. BOO!

I’d rather do an ebook than a physical copy, (although I’m not ruling that out), as it just seems more secure for people all round.

SO! Hope everyone had a great weekend. Is anyone watching/reading any festive favourites?

5 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. rakiyang 30/11/2015 / 2:27 am

    Hogfather is on my list for the Christmas Bookathon! I’m excited to read it, but first I need to finish Mort.
    I enjoyed Cowboys and Aliens the movie, I had no idea there was a book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/11/2015 / 9:55 am

      The Cowboys and alien book is based on the film rather than the other way round. I wouldn’t recommend it. It isn’t very well written.

      Have you read many of Terry Pratchett. I love his books. Did you know there is a film of The Hogfather?

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakiyang 30/11/2015 / 10:18 am

        Ah, I see.
        I’ve only read The Color of Magic and I watched the Going Postal movie. I didn’t know that! OMG! I know there’s a The Color of Magic movie but I haven’t seen it either. Wow, that’s cool! I need to look for it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 30/11/2015 / 10:25 am

        I know there are a few other things made into TV or movie, but they’re the ones I’ve watched.

        I’ve heard his daughter is working on the screenplay for one of his other works, but I can’t remember which!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

