Saving Mr. Banks

UK release date: 29/11/13

Runtime: 125 minutes

Directed by: John Lee Hancock

Starring: Emma Thompson, Tom Hanks, Paul Giamatti, Jason Schwartzman, Bradley Whitford, Colin Farrell

This film is available on Netflix at the time of this review

I didn’t even know Mary Poppins was a book!!

I cried through the entire film. Why have I not watched this before?! This film is amazing from start to finish. The acting is on point. I expected Tom Hanks to outshine everyone, because, well, he’s Tom Hanks.

But! The person who is the most superb is Emma Thompson. I can’t begin to describe how captivating her performance is. Despite being so amazing, she doesn’t drown everyone else out. The other actors compliment her well. They’re all amazing in their performances.
The story is stunning and executed so well. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to watch Mary Poppins the same way again.

I watched a film recently where they had a lot of flashback sequences and it slowed the movie down so much. This film is an example of it’s done right!

This a film you must watch!

After watching the film, I went and read more about the true events and I’m disappointed to say it wasn’t as ‘Disney’ as the film tries to make out.

To sum up, amazing, emotional story, amazing actors, well made film, be sure to have tissues on hand

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 6/6

7 thoughts on “Saving Mr. Banks

    • Combustible reviews 25/11/2015 / 3:32 pm

      It’s great, isn’t it?!

      From what I’ve read Walt Disney wasn’t as nice as the movie portrayed him.

      Like

      • Rachel 25/11/2015 / 5:07 pm

        I read a biography on him and it said he could be “moody” and it was hard to work with him. So I agree.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. mlrover 26/11/2015 / 5:26 pm

    I read Mary Poppins when I was eleven. The story left a huge impression, especially the spoonful of medicine, but I’ve never seen the musical film version. Must do it some time since I love the actors. I liked Saving Mr. Banks but found it odd because of my childhood memory of the book. Also want to say how much I’m enjoying your reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 26/11/2015 / 6:00 pm

      Thank you for the kind comments!

      What exactly was odd about Saving Mr Banks compared to your memories?

      The film version is brilliant. I’ve never read the books, but from my impression after watching Saving Mr Banks and reading more about the Author it may not match up to the book. I hope you enjoy it anyway!

      Like

  2. garethrhodes 03/12/2015 / 5:41 pm

    I’m glad to find that you love this one so much. It’s a beautiful film, that could so easily have been mishandled. If I’m brutally honest, the flashbacks were a BIT of a drag, but perhaps that’s because the stuff involving Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks was SO great. Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

