Horns film review

UK release date: 29/10/14

Runtime: 120 minutes

Directed by: Alexandre Aja

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Max Minghella, Joe Anderson, Juno Temple, Kelli Garner,James Remar, Kathleen Quinlan, Heather Graham, David Morse, Sabrina Carpenter

This film is available on netflix at the time of this review

Based on The book of the same name by Joe Hill, which I haven’t read, but will consider adding to my to read list.

I think I’d recommend seeing if this is a book you’d might want to read. No idea if it’s good or not, but once the mystery of the film is over then you’ll unlikely want to read it and it’s probably better than the film.

I can sum this film up pretty quickly. Original plot, poor execution. I really like the plot, which makes me wish I’d read the book first, but I’d had no idea there was a book.

My problem was the ridiculously silly tone they went for. A black comedy that didn’t work. It got darker as it progressed, but never quite lost the silliness and by then it’d ruined the mood of the film. Not only that, but it dragged in parts with badly done flashback scenes.

Major shame because it could’ve been an excellent film.

Daniel Radcliffe does an amazing performance in this film and it was only him that stopped me from switching off this film.

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

4 thoughts on “Horns film review

  1. Docthewho 25/11/2015 / 12:27 pm

    I really liked the setup and Radcliffe was great in his role but the story sort of fell apart for me and the ending was terrible, it was like the writers didn’t know how to end it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/11/2015 / 3:33 pm

      I agree. I burst out laughing as I watched the ending and not for the right reasons. I wonder how the book ends.

      I was really disappointed because it’s a cool plot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

