The dressmaker film review

UK release date: 20/11/15

Runtime: 118 minutes

Directed by: Jocelyn Moorhouse

Starring: Kate Winslet, Judy Davis, Liam Hemsworth, Hugo Weaving

The Dressmaker is based on the novel of the same name by Rosalie Ham.

I liked this film, but I’m not sure if I liked this film. The plot is super original and all of the characters are so unique and well acted. I absolutely loved Hugo Weaving and the character he portrayed.

And while I think Liam Hemsworth was fantastic. I think he was a bit young looking for his role considering he was supposedly a similar age to Kate Winslet’s character.

The film start with very light and with a sense of humour, but quite quickly the tones becomes a little darker. I felt like I was watching one genre and then it switched to another. This left me unsettled, and not in a good way, and confused. It jolted me from the movie. Still, its originality made up for it a little.

Near the end, or what I thought was the conclusion, I was thrown a curve ball that I didn’t see coming. It was certainly original idea, but I’m not sure I liked it.

It tries to be multiple genres throughout and I think it fails there. It derailed in the last forty five minutes. I did enjoy the film, but the conclusion left me with an overall feeling of dissatisfaction.

To sum up, original, great acting, abrupt change in genres and story progression, well made

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

Leave a Reply

