The hunger games: Mockingjay part one

UK release date: 20/11/14

Runtime: 123 minutes

Directed by: Francis Lawrence

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Julianne Moore, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

Despite being the similar length of the previous film, in fact shorter!, this one felt much longer. I feels like they try to string it out for as long as possible. It feels like the film is wandering around as it waits for Mockingjay part two to come out.

Great actions scenes are followed by drawn out dull and sometimes repetitive scenes. The film is darker too, following a similar tone to catching fire, which I like.

Jennifer Lawerence is once again stunning in her role as Katniss, I think she did an excellent job portraying her struggle, although I do feel Katniss has become too rapped up in herself which I think a character even mentions and her goals seem to have changed too. It leaves me disliking her a bit.

The characters from previous films take a complete back seat which is a shame because I love them. The parts they are in are fantastic. You have to love Miss Effie Trinket.

I also enjoy getting a wider view of what’s happening to the districts, rather than just following Katniss. It definitely made me emotional to see it and I would’ve liked more of it.

I feels like the film is wandering around as it waits for Mockingjay part two to come out. Catching fire was a much better film.

To sum up, too drawn out, great action scenes, stunning acting, intense

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The hunger games film review

The hunger games: Catching fire film review

The hunger games book review

The hunger  games: Mockingjay part two film review

10 thoughts on “The hunger games: Mockingjay part one

  1. garethrhodes 20/11/2015 / 12:42 pm

    Nice review! We agree again. I love what The Hunger Games stands for, and it think it’s highly unusual for a mainstream film to bite that hand that feeds, in the way that this series does. The manipulative nature of technology and media – the suppression of the masses makes it quite poignant. That said, this particular film dawdles for too long, over- stretching the narrative.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 20/11/2015 / 3:38 pm

      We agree again?! I’m getting worried. 😉

      I love the message too and think it would’ve been better not to have so much focus on one character.

      What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 20/11/2015 / 6:55 pm

        Haha! If they’d decided to make a TV series out of the books, maybe they’d have been able to flesh the supporting characters out a bit more. As it stands, I think they had to thrown everything on Katniss and her journey. I’m not a HUGE fan of the way these films are done, but I love the message.

        In order of preference, I’d go Catching Fire, Hunger Games and Mockingjay Pt 1 – really hoping that the final film delivers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 20/11/2015 / 7:10 pm

        Catching fire would be top for me too.

        I watched the final film today, looking forward to seeing what you think of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 20/11/2015 / 7:13 pm

        What’s this, we agree AGAIN!? I think we can consider each other pals. 😉

        I’m looking forward to your review too. I just noticed you reviewed the other two films – I’ll head back for a read. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 20/11/2015 / 7:15 pm

        Pals?! 😥 We’ve come a long way, some would say a galaxy’s worth. :p

        Like

Leave a Reply

