The hunger games: catching fire film review

UK release date: 21/11/13

Runtime: 146 minutes

Directed by: Francis Lawrence

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

This film is available on netflix at the time of this review.

Well this film has made me regret my decision to not continue reading the series!

I thought the previous film was OK, but nothing special and I didn’t become emotionally engaged, except for certain scenes, but anyone who isn’t affected by those scenes isn’t human! D:<

I think I was on the edge of tears or in tears half a dozen times through this film. I felt that it was made much better and the pace was on point. It just feels better made this time around, so thank you Francis Lawrence!

I loved all the characters, (and their respective actors.) I thought Jennifer Lawerence was good in the first film, but she out did herself in this one. She outshone everyone.

I’ve only read the first book, but I much prefer Jennifer Lawrence’s portrayal of Katniss. I feel like it’s more realistic than the book.

The tension is amazing all the way throughout. I loved the character action in the first half of the film. I think the introduction of them was excellent. Although, I would’ve liked more action scenes or interaction with characters in the later half of the film.

I still feel as if there’s so much happening elsewhere that I’m missing out on. I suppose Katniss felt the same and that’s the point, but still.

I’m looking forward to the rest of the series!

To sum up, great actors, great pacing, great tension, felt as if I was missing out on other events

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The hunger games film review

The hunger games book review

The hunger games: Mockingjay part one film review

The hunger games: Mockingjay part two film review

4 thoughts on “The hunger games: catching fire film review

Leave a Reply

