The hunger games film review

UK release date: 23/3/12

Runtime: 142 minutes

Directed by: Gary Ross

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

Ok, first things first, I have a very, very important question, Peeta or Gale?

I was surprised to see that this film pretty much followed the book. Yes, there a things changed, omitted and even added, but, for the most part, it follows the book well.

The film has a great start, but throughout the film the atmosphere of it falls flat. It’s only in the last half that I’m glued to the screen and really invested in the characters. And there are a few scenes that get me emotional.

I feel as if it wasn’t for the book then I wouldn’t have had enough information for the entire premise. It would’ve nice for it to have a quicker pace, keeping you on the edge of your seat. It seems very sedate.

I would’ve loved the main characters to have more interactions too so I could focus on ones to hate, but they did an OK job

I loved Jennifer Lawrence. I thought she fit Katniss perfectly. Josh Hutcherson wasn’t how I
imagined Peeta, but he grew on me, like fungus. Haymitch didn’t get enough love! D:<

Something just seemed to be missing, but I’m betting that it will all start picking up in the next films. It liked it enough that I’m looking forward to watching the rest.

To sum up, thin plot, slow pace, great actors, action picks up in last half

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The hunger games book review

The hunger games: catching fire film review

The hunger games: Mockingjay part one

The hunger games: Mockingjay part two film review

6 thoughts on “The hunger games film review

Leave a Reply

