The hunger games by Suzanne Collins book review

2767052

Winning will make you famous.

Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

For some reason this book is divided into three parts. This makes absolutely no difference to the book and seems pretty pointless to me, but it doesn’t affect the reading experience, just..weird.

I also spotted some mistakes in the book. One where a fact is established and then just a few pages later Collins disregards that and has her character do the opposite.

I find part one to be slow with Katniss constantly thinking of friends, family, worrying which is fair enough, but their comes a point where I thought, yes, I get it! It slowed the action right down.

And this continued in a lesser degree in the other two parts. We don’t get much interactions with other characters until later in the book which is a shame because it leaves me detached and they do seem interesting later on.

I like Katniss’ strength, but this is my problem with some first person novels. They spend too much time absorbed on the character and their feelings rather than what’s happening and showing their feelings through these actions.

This happened with a lot of other things, I never read about a character eating so often! The first few times I understood because it was character development, but I didn’t need it all the time.

(For example, I know people go to the toilet, but no, I don’t want to read about it in a book unless there’s a plot specific reason.)

There’s no tension built in and the description throughout is incredibly lazy. Katniss goes to important place in the book for the first time, but the impact is lessened because it’s barely gets described.

I also don’t get why. There seems to be a flimsy reason for The hunger games actually happening. I also feel as if this book is wrote as a set up for the rest the series instead of being a novel in its own right.

Suddenly there’s an interesting twist that has me sitting up, but by part two my confidence in the waning. I can see where this new development is going a mile off and I have no faith that’s going to be original.

It’s unlikely I’ll be continuing this series as there are certain plot developments that will probably be continuing and they really put me off. It’s a shame because I really love the premise. I just find the execution quite bad.

What does everyone think, should I give the second book a chance?

To sum up, poor writing, intriguing premise, first person not done well

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The maze runner book review

The hunger games film review

The hunger games: catching fire film review

The hunger games: Mockingjay part one film review

The hunger games: Mockingjay part two film review

 

16 thoughts on “The hunger games by Suzanne Collins book review

  1. Lily Jean's Books and Tea 18/11/2015 / 8:58 am

    I am thinking of reading Hunger Games into the future. Thank you for the review. I shall keep in mind with your points once I will be reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 18/11/2015 / 9:26 am

      Hopefully you’ll enjoy more than I did. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

      Like

  2. The Galaxial Word 18/11/2015 / 9:42 am

    CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE TOMORROW OMG I AM HYPERVENTILATING JUST THINKING ABOUT IT. That feeling when you want to watch a movie but you still want to have a whole, working heart. Which I probably won’t if I watch it. I’m seeing it with my friends next week and they haven’t read the book yet (I know, shameful) and OMG THE POWER I could spoil so many things MWAHAHAH but I won’t coz I’m a nice person and SPOILERS ARE TERRIBLE. I’m sad that you didn’t like the book, but your points are completely valid! Thanks for the review! Btw, have you seen the first movie? Did you like it?

    – Paul at The Galaxial Word

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 18/11/2015 / 10:28 am

      No, I’m watching (and reviewing) it today. Is it good?

      I’m glad you’re excited. It’s always so much fun when you love the book and there are movies ect coming out and you can get hyped about it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Galaxial Word 18/11/2015 / 10:32 am

        I thought that the movies were good! Newspapers, reviewers, etc did as well. Make sure you watch The Hunger Games and Catching Fire and Mockingjay Part 1 before you watch Part 2 though 😅

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 18/11/2015 / 10:34 am

        Yes, I’m watching the first film today and the rest are on netflix so me thinks I’ll be binge watching them!

        Will you be going to a midnight showing?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 18/11/2015 / 10:39 am

        Have a good time! Make sure you get loads of goodies to snack on. >:D

        I’ll probably be watching it Friday.

        Like

  3. purpleism 18/11/2015 / 3:41 pm

    Woah, I totally wasn’t expecting a negative review (I loved the books, except the third one). I do agree that the description is sometimes lazy though. You should review Divergent if you haven’t already which is a poor man’s Hunger Games.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 18/11/2015 / 4:03 pm

      There were just certain plot avenues and, like you said lazy description, that put me off it. I loved the idea, just not the execution. You must be looking forward to the film coming out then?

      I’m planning to read Divergent too.

      Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

