Ghost in the shell 2: Innocence film review

UK release date: 28/10/05

Runtime: 100 minutes

Directed by: Mamoru Oshii

Starring: Atsuko Tanaka, Akio Ōtsuka, Kōichi Yamadera, Tamio Ōki, Yutaka Nakano, Naoto Takenaka, Yoshiko Sakakibara, Hiroaki Hirata, Masaki Terasoma

Based on the manga and is the second film in the series. Although it’s stated they are not direct sequels. I would disagree with this. You need to watch the first to have any chance of making sense of this film. It’s easier to follow, although still complex and I would have probably given it a 3/6 if I’d have reviewed it.

This film is very, very beautiful, but very, very confusing. You have a choice to watch it in either dubbed or subbed. I watched it in its original language with subtitles. I watched a little in English and the voices are OK, but what they say doesn’t match up to the subtitles..

There were occasions that I was confused who was speaking, made even worse because sometimes there mouths don’t move. I’m quite sure this is intentional, but it isn’t explained well.

The animation is gorgeous and I love the way they use light in this film. At the start there is a very basic story, but it quickly becomes more complicated. There are a lot of complex and thought provoking themes in this film.

Unfortunately most of it went straight over my head. I got the gist, but I spent most of the film confused and wondering when I’ll be informed what is going on.

I struggled to connect the sequence of events together and why what happened, happened. This made the film almost maddeningly slow for me. I genuinely had no clue what was going on. It was only how beautiful the film was that made me watch all the way to the end.

To sum up, really challenging, (and confusing), themes, beautiful animation, strange sequence of events

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

Leave a Reply

