Star wars VI: Return of the Jedi film review

UK release date: 2/6/83

Runtime: 131 minutes

Directed by: Richard Marquand

Starring: Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams, Anthony Daniels, David Prowse, Kenny Baker, Peter Mayhew, Frank Oz

The film starts slow and seems to linger just a tad too much on scenes which makes me impatiently waiting to get to the meat of the story. And that, for me, was the last half hour, (which is excellent.) On the whole it lacked impact.

I feel like the story is really thin and my main question throughout was, Why? I never see, or am told, what the bad guys are after? Why the good guys are fighting them? How is it affecting the rest of the world?

I’m never shown this, just the rebels fighting the Empire. What exactly is it they’re doing? Maybe I’ve just completely missed it or something, but yeah.

There are a few plot twists in this movie, which are shocking and yet the characters are never surprised or affected by them. I never feel like the characters are in danger either.

The action scenes are excellent and I love the music, especially when Darth Vader’s music kicks in as they come on screen.

But the film just seems a little shallow. They go here, they go there and the finally meet up for a lackluster climax.

I know the original trilogy had an a major effect on people when they first came out, but I failed to fall in love with it. Maybe it’s because I’m watching them for first time in 2015 and so aren’t as awe inspiring. I don’t know. In the end, I still prefer the newer trilogy.

To sum up, no story, great action scenes, great music

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Star wars IV: A new hope film review

Star wars V: The empire strikes back film review

9 thoughts on “Star wars VI: Return of the Jedi film review

  1. garethrhodes 16/11/2015 / 6:34 pm

    We’re a galaxy far, far apart on our assessment of the original trilogy, but I like your blog and your reviews. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 16/11/2015 / 6:37 pm

      Haha, nice I like your intro into that comment! It’d be dull if we all had the same opinion. 🙂

      I don’t hate them, but I don’t love them either unfortunately. D: I’m really looking forward to the new one though.

      Thank you for the compliment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 16/11/2015 / 6:46 pm

        You’re welcome. In the end, there’s no right answer to how a film makes you feel. That’s part of what I love about the medium. That said, there aren’t many recognised classics I don’t recognise as such.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. afishcalledmatt 17/11/2015 / 5:51 am

    Don’t worry, you’re not alone in your dislike for this movie. I’ve got it on my to-do list for my podcast and I’m not looking forward to revisiting this one …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lily Jean's Books and Tea 18/11/2015 / 7:23 am

    I will I do like the original trilogies more than the prequels but I can see your point about not having much of a story. Great review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

