Steve Jobs film review

UK release date: 13/11/15

Runtime: 122 minutes

Directed by: Danny Boyle

Starring: Michael Fassbender, Kate Winslet, Seth Rogen, Jeff Daniels, Katherine Waterston, Michael Stuhlbarg, Perla Haney-Jardine, Ripley Sobo, Makenzie Moss, Sarah Snook, Adam Shapiro

This is an engaging film, but it is not a good biographical film. We view three important moments in Steve Jobs life, (I’m assuming because we didn’t learn much about him.)

It skims the surface of the three events so, while we learn little bits, not enough to be claimed as a biography.

Apple, the mac, all of that stuff is in the background to chaos that is Steve Jobs personal relationships. If you’re hoping to watch something that gives you an in-depth history of the man or the technology then this will disappoint you.

Michael Fassbender is amazing as Steve Jobs. I don’t know if it’s a true portrayal of the man, but he was entertaining and charismatic on the screen. I also thought Kate Winslet, Seth Rogan and Jeff Daniels were excellent too.

Still, while an entertaining film, the way it’s portrayed makes me unsure of what is truly factual. I would’ve liked more facts rather than drama.

To sum up, entertaining, great acting, not a lot of information

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

6 thoughts on “Steve Jobs film review

  1. garethrhodes 14/11/2015 / 6:03 pm

    I’m torn over this one. On one hand, I’m drawn to Aaron Sorkin’s words coming out of Michael Fassbender’s mouth, but I’ve heard it’s a little airless. Good review, by the way.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. afishcalledmatt 16/11/2015 / 4:51 pm

    It’s very Sorkin-y, and maybe something that would actually be better as a stage play, but MF will be in talks for most Best Actor awards in a couple of months.

    Liked by 1 person

      • afishcalledmatt 16/11/2015 / 4:56 pm

        I thought Seth Rogen and Kate Winslet were rather strong as well. Solid acting all around, but I agree with you, after two hours, you know nothing more about Jobs than when you walk into the film.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 16/11/2015 / 5:01 pm

        I loved Kate Winslet, (to my shame I only recognized her when she no longer had spectacles.) And I liked Seth Rogan when he was there.

        I’m glad it’s not just me being a bit dense! The film was entertaining, but it was supposed to be a biopic film. If they hadn’t labelled it as such I might not have bothered me as much.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

