Star wars V: The Empire strikes back film review

UK release date: 21/5/80

Runtime: 124 minutes

Directed by: Irvin Kershner

Starring: Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams, Anthony Daniels, David Prowse, Kenny Baker, Peter Mayhew, Frank Oz

Star wars continues the story of Star wars IV. I found the beginning too slow and felt like I was waiting for the action to start, but, when it did those were excellent. And I’m still in love with the robots.

I also believe Chewbacca is the only one who had his head screwed on straight in this film. (CP30 certainly didn’t! Hahahaha…cough)

I loved the last 45 minutes of this film. I felt I was finally seeing some of the plot unravel and loved the pace of that weaved with action scenes. And, of course, the music was epic throughout.

The last half of this film was amazing, and, woah, that ending! It was worth it for all that happened in the final scenes. I will have to watch the next film because I need to find out what happened.

I was pondering on why I felt unenthusiastic and disconnected from the protagonist’s plight and, for me, it’s doesn’t show me well enough why the bad guys are the bad guys. I don’t see how it affects the rest of the universe.

To sum up, slow start, epic ending, great cast of characters, stingy with plot reveals

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Star wars IV: A new hope film review

Star wars VI : Return of the Jedi film review

5 thoughts on “Star wars V: The Empire strikes back film review

  1. garethrhodes 14/11/2015 / 2:27 pm

    I have seen thousands of films. What I’ve learned from that experience is that The Empire Strikes is a perfect one.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 14/11/2015 / 4:04 pm

      I’m not sure what I would pick as my favourite or perfect film, it’s too hard to decide.

      My Dad think the LOTR films are the best ever made though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

