The fellowship of the ring by J. R. R. Tolkien book review

727798

In a sleepy village in the Shire, a young hobbit is entrusted with an immense task. He must make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the ruling ring of power – the only thing that prevents the Dark Lord’s evil dominion.

From what I’ve read. The Lord of the Rings is actually a single novel, consisting of six books (plus appendices). (Single novel, but is six books? Yeah, not confusing at all.)

I’m informing you of this because my copy of The fellowship of the Ring is two books in one, which make up the first book of the ‘trilogy’. I really struggled with the first book and wondered if I was going to manage the whole 407 pages.

It moves at a glacial pace. The world is obviously well thought out and has a very in depth history, but, wow, my head hurt in my failure to take in. The weather, the land and the history of it is constantly being explained.

Much to my delight, book two was better. The action picked up and, while it’s still description heavy and felt like a history lesson, it wasn’t with huge gaps of nothing happening like the first part.

Tolkien, when he deigns to, is excellent at writing action and at descriptive in general, but there was just too much description of scenery and history.

There are a lot of songs in the book too. Some took up multiple pages. People either love these or hate them. I wasn’t a fan. I found it strange that they’d start singing when they knew they were in danger.

I felt like I only got a glimpse of the characters and besides their actions, and reactions, the way they all spoke was pretty much the same.

For those who enjoy books which described the world and its history then this book is for you.

My main question I had throughout the entire book was, why is there so many exclamations marks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously, they drove me nuts.

To sum up, poor first half, a lot of description, moves very slowly, good second half, well defined world and history

Was it worth the read? Yes, more so the second half

Would I re-read? Not fully, perhaps to flick through and read over parts of the history

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 3/6

2 thoughts on “The fellowship of the ring by J. R. R. Tolkien book review

  1. Jay 11/11/2015 / 4:45 pm

    Good for you. I’ve never even attempted these. It’s not my genre so I just didn’t think I’d have the energy to persevere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 11/11/2015 / 5:49 pm

      I don’t tend to read high fantasy, but book two was enjoyable. It’s never going to be a favourite though.

      Which genre’s do you enjoy then?

      Like

Leave a Reply

