Star wars IV: A new hope film review

UK release date: 27/12/77

Runtime: 121 minutes

Directed by: George Lucas

Starring: Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Peter Cushing, Alec Guinness

The beginning of the film seems to drag on and, except for the traditional summary at the start, I don’t know really what was going on in this film. It does pick up halfway through the film, but it feels as though they do a lot of setting up for the future films.

I don’t find the telling of the story impressive, but the story itself is. The music as well is amazing. (Of course it is, it’s Star wars!)

There aren’t a lot of different species in the film which is disappointing, but I was suppose it was easier not to have them then.

I’m going to say something that’s probably going to horrify many people, but I prefer the newer ones. BUT! I’ve only seen this one of the original trilogy so far, so don’t hold me to that! Concerning this one, I unfortunately didn’t feel glue to the screen.

I love all the robots in the film, as well as chewbacca. I don’t find Darth Vader very menacing or his voice, (Sorry, James Earl Jones).

Harrison Ford obviously gives a great performance and I like Mark Hamill’s portrayal of Luke Skywalker, but other than that no one else stands out for me. (Sorry Dad, I know how much you like Peter Cushing.)

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Star wars V: The Empire strikes back film review

Star wars VI: Return of the Jedi film review

8 thoughts on “Star wars IV: A new hope film review

  1. garethrhodes 12/11/2015 / 12:30 pm

    This is an interesting review. I disagree with most of it entirely, but it’s good to get a new take on what most consider to be a timeless classic. Personally, I don’t think Lucas is setting up future films here, I think he’s ‘world building’. What you see on screen is ambition being realised. I think the original Star Wars is a wonder to behold, fuelled by an imagination that has inspired millions of people. It’s hard to believe all of that stems from a low budget, 70’s space fantasy film.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 12/11/2015 / 1:58 pm

      The fact that you informed me of it being low budget makes me think, wow, they did a great job and it does make me appreciate what they achieved.

      I think I just didn’t fall in love with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 12/11/2015 / 2:11 pm

        I think that’s fair enough. Although it’s much loved, it isn’t for everyone.

        In the years that have passed since 1977, Star Wars has evolved into something else entirely. The prequel trilogy throws more ‘stuff’ at the audience, with its bloated visual effects roster and dry storylines about trade negotiations, but essentially, the first two Star Wars pictures were about bottling magic. They did this superbly, becoming culturally significant in the process. The ‘new ones’ capitalised on that magic, but failed to restore it. I really do feel, from what we have seen, that the spirit of the original film is ingrained into The Force Awakens. At least I hope so.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 12/11/2015 / 2:14 pm

        I’m really looking forward to The force awakens! (Even if they’re not doing a midnight showing at me cinema -_-)

        I’m watching the rest of the trilogy this evening so my thoughts may change.

        I watched the newer ones first so that could be a reason I view them differently.

        Did you watch the originals first then, I assume?

        Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 12/11/2015 / 2:25 pm

        Yes, I consider the original trilogy to be something truly special. Enjoy your evening of film. Really allow yourself to immerse in Empire, it’s an incredible film.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

