I, Robot film review

UK release date: 6/8/04

Runtime: 115 minutes

Directed by: Alex Proyas

Starring: Will Smith, Bridget Moynahan, Bruce Greenwood, James Cromwell, Chi McBride, Alan Tudyk

I, Robot is a well oiled machine. Yeah… I went there.

I can’t say one bad thing about this film. (Why would I want to?) It has excellent pacing and every piece of dialogue is carefully chosen. Along with visual cues weaved in too.

It goes from a seemingly simple plot to an incredibly complex one. It has many plot twists, some you may figure out, some you will definitely not. Nothing is coincidental.

I loved the world it’s set in and it’s a shame we never see more, but we get enough for the film to tell its story.

(Hint: Someone write a book so I can read it and love it. I know it’s inspired by Isaac Asimov collection of short stories of the same name, but they’re apparently not the same.)

I love Will Smith’s character Spooner and his portrayal of him. His reasons for his actions are well thought out.

Sonny, (voiced by Alan Tudyk), Oh Sonny, I defy anyone not to love him.

You can’t look away for a minute or you’ll miss something and that’d suck!

To sum up, great characters, amazing story, good pacing

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

Leave a Reply

