Weekly update

I figured I’d start of with a, (maybe), funny story. Last night I sat down to watch the Star Wars Trilogy, (4, 5 and 6). I put the DVD in and was watching it for about half an hour and I was thinking, “What’s going on? I don’t understand what’s happening?”

Anyway, my Dad asked me to look up the person who voices Darth Vader, (James Earl Jones), and I realized I was watching them in the wrong order, number 5 instead of 4.

Roman numerals foiled me! And I do actually know quite a few of the roman numerals, (thank you final fantasy!) These kind of derp moments are sadly normal for me.

Well, now the (maybe), funny story is over, let’s get back to the update.

As those already following might have noticed, I’ve changed my rating system. I used to do ten stars, but it wasn’t working for me as I didn’t know which star specifically meant to me. I was basically going on gut instinct. I’ve now changed to a six star system which I’m quite happy with.

You can check out what each star means on the rating system page. What do you think?

Right now, I’m reading The fellowship of the ring by J R R Tolkien, (so many exclamation points!). I’ve seen the films already so it’ll be interesting to compare them. I might review the films along with the books.

After that, I’ll be reading a book by an indie Author that I discovered on NaNoWriMo. It has an interesting premise and I’m curious to see the direction it goes.

I’ll be watching, (and reviewing), Burnt on Monday, but after that I’m unsure if there are any new releases at the cinema until the end of the week. I know that The lady in a van is being released soon and I’m looking forward to that as it looks hilarious!

I also have a question for everyone. Would you like more Netflix reviews on the days I haven’t got a cinema release to review?

Or are you happy with the mix of DVD’s and Netflix I already do?

As always, you can . . .

Follow me on twitter

Friend me on Goodreads

To all newcomers, don’t forget to follow so you never miss a review!

Have a great Sunday everyone and looking forward to hearing from you!

6 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. filmfunkel 08/11/2015 / 6:45 pm

    Personally, the source of a movie (Netflix, DVD, Cinema, etc) isn’t an issue as what I’m on the lookout for is:

    1. Cool movies I didn’t know were out there, and
    2. Cool movies I’d normally skip, but reviews have piqued my interest.

    To that end, I focus on the why’s of a person’s rating and less the rating or where they saw the movie.

    Just my two cents. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 08/11/2015 / 6:50 pm

      Good point!

      I was thinking that a lot of people may have Netflix so it could be helpful having reviews of films from so they don’t have to waste their time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. filmfunkel 08/11/2015 / 6:52 pm

    It’s a good thought and always a great feeling to warn people of a disaster or guide them towards a hidden gem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emmakwall 10/11/2015 / 12:01 pm

    I always end up forgetting which side of the X or whatever the I goes to make it a 4 or a 5. Does ANY of that make sense?!!

    Also, I like reviews of all shapes and sizes 🙂 it can be handy to find out if there’s any new releases on Netflix though.

    Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 10/11/2015 / 1:57 pm

        V!!!! Not X lol. That’s for 10 isn’t it. I’m a right Homer Simpson 🙂

        I NEVER remember!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

