Scout’s guide to the zombie apocalypse film review

UK release date: 6/11/15

Runtime: 93 minutes

Directed by: Christopher B. Landon

Starring: Tye Sheridan, Logan Miller, Joey Morgan, Sarah Dumont, David Koechner, Halston Sage, Cloris Leachman, Niki Koss, Hiram A. Murray, Lukas Gage, Drew Droege, Patrick Schwarzenegger, Blake Anderson, Elle Evans , Cameron Elmore

The trailers of this film had put me off it before I’d even watched it. I walked into this thinking I was going to completely hated. My expectations of this film were really low.

Well, I’m going to tell you something that completely shocked me. I actually liked it.

It’s a horror comedy aimed at teenage boys, (and upwards), but, I was surprised to find out that it didn’t go overboard on the gore or the lewdness. I say horror, but it isn’t scary. The jump scares don’t work, but it isn’t that kind of film so I wasn’t fussed.

There were quite a few scenes that made me chuckle and I smiled all the way throughout. This was mainly do to the scout trio, Ben (Tye Sheridan), Carter (Logan Miller), and Augie (Joey Morgan).They were really amazing and made this film!

And, of course, there was Denise (Sarah Dumont), the hot chick. Usually, I hate these girls on sight and gleefully hope they’ll get eaten by a zombie, but I actually liked her. I liked her role in the film.

It’s never going to be a film I love or buy the DVD of, but this is because this isn’t my kind of genre. It’s a shocker that I actually like it. So if you do like this sort of film then I recommend watching it.

To sum up, great actors, not scary, good balance on horror/lewdness, funny moments

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

3 thoughts on “Scout’s guide to the zombie apocalypse film review

  1. newguy87 22/12/2015 / 9:52 pm

    I couldn’t help but think this was like Superbad with Zombies

    Like

Leave a Reply

