Warm bodies film review

UK release date: 8/2/13

Runtime: 97 minutes

Directed by: Jonathan Levine

Starring: Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, Rob Corddry, Dave Franco, Analeigh Tipton, Cory Hardrict, John Malkovich

Zombie meets girl, zombie doesn’t eat girl. A romantic comedy film.

The film is based on the book of the same name by Isaac Marion.

I resisted watching this for the longest time. The whole, ‘turn a monster into love interest’, thing irritated me from the start.

A romance story featuring a zombie?! Nope!

I was convinced that I was going to hate this film from the start. And… I actually enjoyed it.

Nicholas Hoult carries this film and completely overshadows all other actors. To be fair, he is the main character so that isn’t too much of an issue. He’s witty in deadpan way.

If it wasn’t for him, I doubt they would have been able to pull this idea off. I’m not sure how he managed to make me think a zombie was cute, but there you go. Everyone else just seemed a little bit silly in the film, more the premise than their fault, I think.

The plot follows no scientific basis, (I’m assuming), but once you’ve accepted that the movie is tinged with a little bit of ridiculousness, you can settle back and enjoy a film that’s easy to watch.

The film is low on dramatic tension and is not going to be for people who love high action in their films.

I noticed that it has a deeper message about how technology has completely disconnected us from the real world. We’re still here, but, so glued to our tech, that we shuffle through life like, well, zombies.

To sum up, enjoyable, plot stretches your imagination to the limit, Nicholas Hoult is amazing

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

7 thoughts on “Warm bodies film review

  1. filmfunkel 05/11/2015 / 6:13 pm

    Same here: didn’t want to see it, ended up thoroughly enjoying it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 05/11/2015 / 6:14 pm

      It’s typical, isn’t it?

      I tried the book just before I found out about the film, but couldn’t get past the first chapter.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. emmakwall 10/11/2015 / 12:03 pm

    I LOVE this film!! When people say “it’s just Twilight with zombies” it really annoys me, it’s such a strange, sweet film.

    Also, just seen your comment to Film Funkel, I tried the book too, I got past the first chapter but not much further!! I found it too ‘dreamy’ and surreal-esque, not my cup of tea. But does make sense as to why the film was so good 🙂

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 10/11/2015 / 1:33 pm

      Yeah, I feel like the book does a summary of events and tells us, but, to be fair, I didnt get past the first chapter so It could’ve got better.

      I don’t get a twilight vibe at all! I wonder if those people actually watched it or prejudged because the premise is similar?

      Like you said, it’s a sweet film that doesn’t try to be too dramatic or more than it is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 10/11/2015 / 1:59 pm

        It just wasn’t written in a way that was for me, it was too…..weird (for lack of a better word!) but I’m sure it’s a great book for those who enjoy that sort of thing.

        It’s nothing like Twilight is it!! That statement really annoys me, but definitely only people who have prejudged the film without watching it. Everyone I know who has seen it, likes it! It’s such a lovely premise, I didn’t really want to watch it either but I was so glad I did. Nicholas Hoult is so lovely too!

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 10/11/2015 / 4:12 pm

        Nicholas Hoult is fast becoming a favourite Actor for me. I loved him in Mad Max: Fury road.

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 10/11/2015 / 4:13 pm

        Me too, he’s great!! I really want to see Kill Your Friends as be interesting to see him play someone so mean (evil laugh)

        Like

Leave a Reply

