Princess Arete film review

Release date: 21/7/01

Runtime: 105 minutes

Directed by: Sunao Katabuchi

Starring: Hōko Kuwashima, Takeshi Koyama, Satomi Koorogi, Minami Takayama, Yūsuke Numata, Eiji Takemoto

Note: This is available to watch on Netflix at the time of this review.

An isolated Princess is taken by a sorcerer and locked away.

Princess Arete, based on the story The clever Princess by Diana Coles, started wonderfully. I was very excited about watching it and discovering where the story was going. We had an array of interesting characters, particularly our main character.

Which is why I was so disappointed.

After such a strong beginning, we have at least twenty of slow pacing. My finger edged to the fast foward button on one or more occasion.

Not only that, but I felt the film unintentionally mislead me. As I watched, I felt the story was leading in a certain direction, introducing lots of different elements and characters, which rose lots of questions that I was excited to learn the answer to.

. . .And then it veered widely off course and I don’t mean an unexpected twist. All those interesting things they introduced in the great beginning? Never used. If they’d have used them along with sudden change in course, it may have been a good film.

I think this is because Princess Arete is pushing a underlying message and it’s a great message, but it gets in the way of the story. They push it too hard.

This, unfortunately, means that a lot of things are left unanswered and my main feeling after watching the feel is disappointment. I liked it and could see what it could have been.

The film is suitable to all ages and the younger audiences will enjoy this.

To sum up, great characters, lots of unanswered questions, great beginning, middle too slow, really pretty

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

Leave a Reply

