The hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy film review

UK Release date: 28/4/05

Runtime: 108 minutes

Directed by: Garth Jennings

Starring: Martin Freeman, Sam Rockwell, Mos Def, Zooey Deschanel, Bill Nighy, Anna Chancellor, John Malkovich

This is based on the book of the same name by Douglas Adams. I was quite excited to watch the film because I’ve read, and enjoyed, the first two books.

The beginning is. . . Weird and not in the comedic, fun way. I’m pretty sure it spoils parts of the others books not majorly, but, considering I haven’t read the rest of the series, and this is based on the first book, it annoys me a little.

It isn’t exactly like the novels. They’ve taken a lot of plot components and sort of, patch worked them together. Even having read the book, I watched with a sort of an amused befuddlement.

The entire film is spattered with moments of narration, (by Stephen Fry). Half of me likes it because it’s descriptions from the book, but they also pulled me from the movie and slowed the pace.

I love Martin Freeman in this. He has loads of witty one liners, and while he doesn’t act as I’d imagine Arthur Dent. I still enjoyed his portrayal.

The only other character I loved, (even liked), was Marvin, voiced by Alan Rickman, who’s perfect.

Oh, Marvin, I just want to hug you, but you’d probably hate me. You made me laugh giggle several times, (and you probably hate me for that too.)

The one thing that pretty much wreck this film for me is that they twist it into a love story, a really cliche one.

To sum up, confusing plot, a few great characters, a few funny moments, big star cast

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? Only for Marvin

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The restaurant at the end of the Universe book review

3 thoughts on “The hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy film review

  1. filmfunkel 02/11/2015 / 11:01 pm

    I wasn’t thrilled with this, even less when I learned Adams died before finishing it. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

