My hero by Tom Holt book review

1125887

Writing novels? Piece of cake, surely… or so Jane thinks.

Until hers starts writing back.

At which point, she really should stop. Better still, change her name and flee the country. The one thing she should not do is go into the book herself.

After all, that’s what heroes are for. Unfortunately, the world of fiction is a far more complicated place than she ever imagined. And she’s about to land her hero right in it.

How could I not read this book with a blurb like that? This is the kind of blurb that immediately attracts my attention. I’m a fan of humorous fantasy.

Tom Holt’s writing is style is much like Terry Pratchett’s and, if you’re a fan of sci fi, Douglas Adams, so if you enjoy them, then you may enjoy this author.

This book doesn’t live up to its awesome blurb. We follow several viewpoints which is done well, but too often. I loved all the characters, but wasn’t given enough time with any in particular to gain a connection to them.

I enjoyed reading it to the last page, but once I finished and closed its covers, I felt a trace of disappointment. I don’t know what, but I was expecting something more.

To sum up, fun read, great writing, left wanting more (in a bad way)

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 4/6

2 thoughts on “My hero by Tom Holt book review

  1. filmfunkel 01/11/2015 / 4:17 pm

    Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams. Those two names in the same sentence are almost enough to make me read this – lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 01/11/2015 / 4:19 pm

      I’ve seen some reviews that this isn’t one of Tom Holt’s better books, so if you do try him, then I recommend trying a different book by him.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

