Fingerface film review

UK release date: 1/12/15

Runtime: 88 minutes

Directed by: Andrew Dawson

Starring: Andrew Dawson

Andrew Dawson emailed and asked if I’d like to watch and review his film Fingerface. I decided I did so here we go!

(P.S. He attempted to bribe me with chocolate, but I declined because I’m loyal to you, dear followers. And he’d already eaten it.)

I thought I wasn’t going to like this film. I’m used to watching big money productions. I’ve never hunted down indie films like I would indie books. And that is a big mistake.

The film moves smoothly from scene to scene and is very professional looking. (No shaky camera!) The settings were fantastic and I really enjoyed them. I thought they were well drawn and fit well with an array of props.

project_56291b6032d7e80900000316_extraimg__102929073project_56291b6032d7e80900000316_extraimg__255245348project_56291b6032d7e80900000316_extraimg__328183567project_56291b6032d7e80900000316_extraimg__342586771

Finger 1 who played Giles was an excellent lead, but I think my favourite character was Harry. That’s right all the ‘actors’ are fingers.

Harry

I know, when I first discovered this, it was part of my hesitance for watching it, but trust me; Dawson does a good job with each part as he manages to make each one a real character that you forget that they are basically fingers with faces drawn on them. Dawson manages to inject a lot of humour throughout the film.

I genuinely became invested in the characters and halfway through realized I really hated one character in particular, (one you’re supposed to hate), and this character was a finger with a face. . .

The sound effects were great and not too over the top. Except for the kissing, particularly the snogging, I really didn’t like it the noises for that.

The story itself is quite predictable and I figured out what was happening quite quickly, but there are a lot of twists and turns and the ending is different to what I expected.

It felt a little long, but that could be because I’m used to big budget movies with lots of effects. The fact that this is made entirely by one person is awe inspiring.

Fingerface will be released as VOD on 1 December 2015. You can watch the trailer or pre-order the film at https://www.reelhouse.org/andrewdawson/fingerface/

To sum up, a little long, humorous, great actor(s), fun scenery, predictable plot

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

3 thoughts on “Fingerface film review

  1. Jay 30/10/2015 / 1:52 pm

    I’d check it out too, just for the novelty. I like people who are thinking outside the box.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/10/2015 / 2:40 pm

      It’s definitely worth watching just to see how well made it is. You don’t always need a big budget.

      Like

  2. emmakwall 30/10/2015 / 2:44 pm

    Awesome review Jen! I can’t wait to watch this. I’m a fan of indie movies (always believed you don’t need a budget to make a good film) generally.

    This looks pretty quirky and hopefully quite sentimental, in a non-schmaltzy way!

    I’ll be reviewing this next week 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

