Howl’s moving castle by Diana Wynne Jones book review

Howl'sMovingCastle_B_PB

“How about making a bargain with me?” said the demon. “I’ll break your spell if you agree to break this contract I’m under.”

In the land of Ingary, where seven-league boots and cloaks of invisibility really exist, Sophie Hatter attracts the unwelcome attention of the Witch of the waste, who puts a curse on her. Determined to make the best of things, Sophie travels to the one place where she might get help-the moving castle which hovers on the nearby hill.

But the castle belongs to the dreaded Wizard Howl whose appetite, they say, is satisfied only by the hearts of young girls…

The first chapter or so, is written in a summary type way. Perhaps because this book is aimed at younger readers, I don’t know, but it does come across as childless.

After that, the writing is wonderful, showing glimpses of a world we’d love to know more about. We get the barest glimpses of its working and the characters. It’s only after you’ve finished the story that you feel disappointed that you didn’t experience more of the setting.

It’s a great tale with a fantastic array of characters. The story is unique and I read this in one sitting, thoroughly enjoying every moment.

I thought the ending was a little abrupt. I wanted to know more. I wanted to see what happened after. (Although, I suppose there’s the sequel!)

This is a book definitely a younger reader, particularly one starting their first foray into fantasy. It’s a delightful book with a refreshing humour in its pages.

To sum up, great characters, face paced plot, abrupt ending

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read it? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Definitely

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

Howl’s moving castle film review

18 thoughts on “Howl’s moving castle by Diana Wynne Jones book review

  1. Lily Jean's Books and Tea 28/10/2015 / 10:52 am

    I completely agree with you. Particularly with the ending being abrupt, that’s when I found out that Howl’s Moving Castle is actually a start of a trilogy. My favourite will always be Calcifer. In both the book and the film. 😀 Fantastic review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 28/10/2015 / 3:08 pm

      Have you read the second book yet?

      I read the blurb and I don’t get the impression that the character’s from the first will play a huge part in it.

      (P.S. I love Calcifer too! May all your bacon burn!)

      Like

      • Lily Jean's Books and Tea 28/10/2015 / 3:15 pm

        No I didn’t. But it is on my To Be Read list. I just read a few reviews and it is said it is set 4 years after Howl’s Moving Castle and there will be different characters. I am still interested to read it and how it turns out.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jeanleesworld 29/10/2015 / 1:51 am

    To answer you both, Jones does utilize these characters in two other books, but to describe how she does so would give away some excellent plot twists. Just trust me–you will enjoy CASTLE IN THE AIR and HOUSE OF MANY WAYS.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/10/2015 / 8:13 am

      Thanks for letting us know! I loved the characters from the first so I would’ve been sad to continue the journey without them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeanleesworld 31/10/2015 / 2:46 pm

        I know precisely what you mean. Just, you know, be aware that they travel with you in, let’s say, “unique ways.” Enjoy!

        Like

Leave a Reply

