Logan’s world by William F Nolan book review

1084628

The last battle burned the planet to a charred husk, leaving only a few scattered tribes struggling desperately to survive…like the corps of elite killers who served the dictatorship…or the sadistic bands of motorcycle hoods, prowling the ruins for victims…or the slavers, mutants and madmen preying on those who still hoped to rebuild the future…and a brave few like Logan and his family – the hunted refugees in a world of vicious predators.

Logan’s world is the sequel to Logan’s run, which you need to read to understand the story so far. There is also a film and a TV series.

This book doesn’t hold any punches. It is dark. The story is tight, if it isn’t needed it isn’t there. I like the writing style. Nolan is able to weave descriptions in without you becoming confused or distracted.

Logan run is a main character that you can get behind. He isn’t perfect, something he admits. All the characters along the way seem realistic and true for the current world.

At 146 pages, this is a compact novel. It’s a good read, but I wouldn’t have minded it to have been expanded on. I would’ve loved to see more of people surviving in the world and just more of the world in general. I also missed the previous setting, (but never fear there’s a sequel set there!)

There was certain plot elements that I thought could’ve been weaved more into the story as that plot twist seemed quite abrupt, but it was explained well.

To sum up, fast paced, quite dark and with strong themes, great description, interesting world

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

Logan’s run film review

Logan’s search book review

14 thoughts on “Logan’s world by William F Nolan book review

  1. filmfunkel 25/10/2015 / 5:55 pm

    Whoa, I never knew there was a sequel. Thanks!

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 27/10/2015 / 6:01 pm

      (WordPress put this comment in spam! D:< ) There's Logan's run, Logan's world and Logan's search and I've read that he's published an ebook sequel after these, but I can't find it. 😥 And there are two more coming out too! (Apparently)

      Have you read the first one then? What do you think of them?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. filmfunkel 27/10/2015 / 6:04 pm

    I’ve only seen the movie. I saw the book afterwards and never knew which was based on which. Now I am getting curious to read them. 😀

    Like

    • filmfunkel 27/10/2015 / 6:04 pm

      HEY! It let me reply!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/10/2015 / 6:06 pm

      The movie is are based on the book. I saw the movie first too and then discovered the books.

      Although the book is different on certain things (and darker) than the book.

      I’ve heard rumours of a remake of the film.

      Liked by 1 person

      • filmfunkel 27/10/2015 / 6:08 pm

        I’ll likely be tracking those down soon, especially if they’re as interesting as the film was.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. filmfunkel 27/10/2015 / 6:11 pm

    Not sure if asking why will spoil anything for me – your call.

    Like

      • filmfunkel 27/10/2015 / 6:18 pm

        Understood. I’ll let you know when I’ve read them. 🙂

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 27/10/2015 / 6:21 pm

        Please do, I’d be interested to see what you think.

        I’ve read a few reviews on goodreads and people’s opinions vary widely on them, mainly concerning on how women are portrayed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

