Horror week! Silent Hill film review

This the ninth film for horror week!

UK release date: 2/4/06

Runtime: 127 minutes

Directed by: Christophe Gans

Starring: Radha Mitchell, Sean Bean, Laurie Holden, Deborah Kara Unger, Kim Coates, Tanya Allen, Alice Krige, Jodelle Ferland

Silent Hill is based on the game of the same name. I know of the game series, but not enough to be filled with rage if this isn’t like the game, (which, let’s face it, it probably isn’t).

There is one thing in particular that I LOVE about this film, and that is the soundtrack. I’m going to have to buy it because, wow, it’s amazing!

The plot is very different from average horror films and it probably has the games to thank for that. The visual effects are amazing. I absolutely love the monsters and the way the world works.

One thing I didn’t like was how it switched POV between Christopher Da Silva (Sean Bean) and Rose Da Silva (Radha Mitchell).

It jolted me from the film and I would’ve much preferred to stick with Rose for the entirety of the film. I think it would’ve made it a scarier film, but I suppose it was needed to further the plot so I shan’t complain too much.

Jodelle Ferland is amazing in this film. She seems to have a knack for horror as I’ve seen her in a couple others.

To sum up, amazing visual effects, unique plot, a bit choppy

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Resident evil film review

5 thoughts on “Horror week! Silent Hill film review

  1. emmakwall 28/10/2015 / 4:57 pm

    I’m a big fan of film soundtracks and I want to say thank you for drawing my attention to the Silent Hill soundtrack, I will research now 🙂

    Unfortunately I don’t love this movie but I really, really WANT to love it, every time I watch it. I love twisted monsters, I love the premise, I loved the game. But every time I’ve watched it, it’s just started falling flat about half way through 😦 however, that won’t stop me watching it again! Excellent review Jen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

