Horror week! War of the worlds film review

This is our eighth film for horror week!

UK Release date: 1/7/05

Runtime: 116 minutes

Directed by: Steven Spielberg

Starring: Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, Justin Chatwin, Miranda Otto, Tim Robbins

Note: This is the 2005 version. Also, based on the book of the same name by H. G. Wells

This isn’t a scary film, but it is a scary film.

I haven’t a bad word about this film. To me, it was perfect from start to finish. My heart was in my throat from start to finish too. And that was thanks to two people, Dakota Fanning and Tom Cruise.

They play father and daughter and without them, this film wouldn’t have been anywhere near as good. I was completely terrified for them through the entire film and that is why this is a scary film.

The character development, particularly of Tom Cruise’s character Ray is on point throughout the entire film. The subtleties used are amazing. Several of the scenes will stick in your head forever.

If you haven’t watched this film then you need to. Now. Because I can’t be the only one to go through that. You all need to feel the same as what I felt.

This is one those films that you always remember. It’s a film you have to watch.

Was it worth the watch? YES

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 6/6

3 thoughts on “Horror week! War of the worlds film review

  1. Docthewho 24/10/2015 / 10:23 pm

    I’m quite fond of Wotw as well but I never really see people praise it that much so this is refreshing, pretty visceral feeling film and it had some great scenes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/10/2015 / 9:10 am

      I loved the film and my Dad liked it (which mean it is good because that guy never likes anything.)

      Tom Cruise wasn’t a cliché action hero who got hold of gun and started fighting back, that was so refreshing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

