Horror week! A nightmare on Elm Street film review

This is our seventh film for horror week!

UK release date: 12/7/85

Runtime: 91 minutes

Directed by: Wes craven

Starring: John Saxon, Ronee Blakley, Heather Langenkamp, Amanda Wyss, Nick Corri, Johnny Depp, Robert Englund

This is a horror that you can’t run from because running would make you tired and the last thing you want to be is tired!

Note: This is the 1984 version!

For me, there were too many lulls in it. I assume these scenes were meant to further the story and create tension, but they failed for me. It’s a unique, (and terrifying), plot. I felt they didn’t use it to its full potential though. All the same, I would’ve liked more horror. It isn’t scary enough for me!

Our villain is in your face. He’s not a fan of skulking around in the shadows. Robert Englund is the one true Freddy!

Johnny Depp who plays Glen, (I would’ve never have recognized Depp if I hadn’t known he was in it), doesn’t have much screen time, but, in the scenes he’s in, you can tell that he’s going to be an amazing actor.

I felt as if a lot of the characters look the other way for the sake of the film. Some of their actions are just unbelievable. I’m very interested to watch the 2010 remake though.

To sump, failed to raise to the occasion, not scary enough, great plot and villain

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

4 thoughts on “Horror week! A nightmare on Elm Street film review

  1. emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 12:39 pm

    I really like the third one ‘Dream Warriors’. And despite everyone else in the WORLD disliking it, I kinda liked the remake too! 🙂

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 1:30 pm

      I’ve had films I’ve loved/hated that the world has a differing opinion. Most recently the film Carol. I didn’t think it was very good.

      I think I’ve watched Dream warriors, but so long ago that I can’t have an opinion on it unless I watch it again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 2:20 pm

        Sometimes I like stirring up trouble, it makes me happy! Haha. Like I hate Forest Gump but I kind of liked The Human Centipede 2. Suck it! (not you, just everyone else lol)

        Dream Warriors is my fave Elm Street film but I guess they’re all much of a muchness and I understand your points about the original! The remake was more ‘serious’ and though I didn’t love every aspect I just enjoyed it for a stand alone horror film. I think the super fans objected the most.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 2:25 pm

        The human centipede, I believe it was number 2, scarred me. I love horror, but that was way too much for me in a bad way, but if you liked it then fair dos. I think I don’t handle ‘gross’ horror very well.

        I liked the more seriousness of the Nightmare remake, but I wanted more from it. They tweaked it a little then went with it. 😦

        I have to say I loved Forrest Gump. Why does Tom Hanks always make bittersweet films?

        Like

Leave a Reply

