The restaurant at the end of the Universe by Douglas Adams book review

RestaurantAtTheEndOfTheUniverse

When all questions of space, time, matter and the nature of being have been resolved, only one questions remains – ‘Where shall we have dinner?’ The restaurant at the end of the universe provides the ultimate gastronomic experience, and for once there is no morning after to worry about.

This is the second book in the series.

Douglas Adams writing style is very similar to Terry Pratchett or maybe it’s the other way around?!

Either way, I expected to enjoy it because, 1. I love Terry Pratchett, and 2. I enjoyed the first book in The Hitchhiker’s series.

So, it was a surprise to me that… I did not. I love the writing style, which like I said, is a lot like Pratchett. Some may not like it, because, to put in laymen terms, Adams waffles on a lot, purposely.  I love reading from the different viewpoints of, let’s face it, insignificant characters.

I did find the made up words a tad annoying and got to a point where I was just skimming them when they came up.

The plot… Well, there is one in there, but it never gets to full steam. Lots of things happen, but there’s no resolution or motive. What are they achieving? What is achieved in the story? I have no idea.

I love the characters. They are well rounded and act and speak in a way that is true to their strange, weirdo characters.

I think it was just missing that extra bit of plot, a reason why for their journey or at least stumbling into an aim. I felt as if the book wasn’t finished.

To sum up, great characters, imaginative world, seemingly no plot

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read it? No

Would I read this author again? Yes

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy film review

One thought on “The restaurant at the end of the Universe by Douglas Adams book review

Leave a Reply

