Howl’s moving castle film review

UK release date: 23/9/05

Runtime: 119 minutes

Directed by: Hayao Miyazaki

Starring: (English version) Emily Mortimer, Jean Simmons, Christian Bale, Lauren Bacall, Billy Crystal, Josh Hutcherson, Blythe Danner, Jena Malone, Mari Devon, Crispin Freeman, Liliana Mumy, Mark Silverman, Daijirō Harada

Howl’s moving castle is base on a book of the same name by Diana Wynne Jones. The film is made by studio Ghibli which is like the Japanese version of Disney.

I’m a big fan of Ghibli and of Diana Wynne Jones so I was looking forward to watching this.

The music for this is wonderful and the animation is painted onto the screen, my favourite kind.

Pretty much from the start the film deviates from the book. I still enjoyed it, but in the end, I would’ve have loved to have seen a film true to the book because it’s a wonderful story and I feel it would’ve made a fantastic film.

It was still exciting and fast paced and typical of Ghibli, although, I wouldn’t rate this as one of my favourites. Perhaps, they were constricted by the book? Scenes from the book were kept in the film, but because the rest of the film wasn’t like the book, they seemed odd.

The (English) voice actors of Howl, Sophie and Calcifer didn’t fit my vision of the characters and seemed off to me. Although, I loved the voice actor for old Sophie and felt Jean Simmons was a good fit.

To sum up, enjoyable, doesn’t follow the book, beautiful animation, not my favourite Ghibli

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

Related reviews –

Howl’s moving castle book review

7 thoughts on “Howl’s moving castle film review

  1. MyBookJacket 03/01/2016 / 1:40 pm

    I’m yet to watch this, which is a very sad thing. I wish there was a website like goodreads but to keep track of movies. That’d be great.

    Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 03/01/2016 / 1:50 pm

        I’ve done a lot of googling, haven’t found it yet. If it exists then it’s doing a great job hiding!

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 03/01/2016 / 2:11 pm

        Haha, you cannot hide from us forever! I have netflix, but that isn’t good at cataloging what I’ve watched like goodreads is.

        Like

      • MyBookJacket 03/01/2016 / 3:03 pm

        Moreover it isn’t available in India. 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

