The walk film review

UK release: 2/10/15

Runtime: 123 minutes

Directed by: Robert Zemeckis

Starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ben Kingsley, Charlotte Le Bon, James Badge Dale

I debated whether to see this film because the trailer didn’t excite me, but, like you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, you shouldn’t judge a film by its trailer.

Well, with this one, I judged right.

Philippe Petit, (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), narrates the film the entire way through. I assume its excerpts from his book. I didn’t like this. It jolted me from the film and left me feeling disconnected. I would’ve preferred it to be made like a traditional film, conveyed through its action.

Speaking of, the action didn’t really kick in until the last half hour, which is nerve racking and you’re finally glued to the screen, but the first hour kind of muddles along. I understand it was based on a true story so I can’t have all that tense excitement, but still, with that, and the annoying narrative, I found it a little dull.

I liked how it ended and caught the subtle respect the aura of the film was going for.

I watched this in 2D, but I can tell where they would’ve used 3D and I imagined it would’ve heightened the experience.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt gives an amazing, vibrant performance and, because of that, carried this film. All the other actors did well, but faded into the background.

Considering this is from the director who gave us Forrest Gump and Cast away, I’m a little disappointed.

Was it worth the watch? Yes, but, unless you’re watching it in 3D, not in the cinema.

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

Leave a Reply

