Star Trek into darkness film review

UK release date: 9/5/13

Runtime: 133 minutes

Directed by: J. J. Abrams

Starring: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, Benedict Cumberbatch, Peter Weller, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, Bruce Greenwood, Leonard Nimoy, Alice Eve

The visual effects of this film are stunning. It’s so exciting to see Star Trek where they can fully realize the look of it. The ships looks amazing and, wow, Earth just…wow. It probably would’ve been amazing to watch on the big screen. The music does seem a little loud and over the top sometimes, but only minor.

The actors and the characters they portray are amazing. I love the bickering between Spock and Kirk; they make me smile and are adorable… in a manly way.

I loved the fact that in the first film, they gave us a fresh timeline to follow. The story of this film is fast paced. The film is well made. It’s emotional.

Although, I would’ve loved to have seen more alien races and perhaps the worlds, but I suppose they need to make a TV series for that, hint hint.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

4 thoughts on “Star Trek into darkness film review

  1. Matthew 14/10/2015 / 12:56 pm

    I really liked this one. Abrams made a good Star Trek movie, and a decent follow up to 2009’s “Star Trek”, one of my favorite Star Trek movies. The only thing I hold against this one is that the second half of the movie becomes a remake of “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan”.
    3.5/5

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 14/10/2015 / 1:41 pm

      I did notice the fan service near the end. They plan to release the third in June 2016, which is exciting!

      Like

  2. filmfunkel 14/10/2015 / 2:43 pm

    Good call there, if they could make a TV series based on the Abrams Star Trek universe – without Rick Berman’s influence – I would be ecstatic.

    I also love Into Darkness as well. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

