Regression film review

UK release date: 9/10/15

Runtime: 106 minutes

Directed by: Alejandro Amenabar

Starring: Ethan Hawke, Emma Watson, David Dencik, David Thewlis

Regression isn’t what I was expecting. I’m not sure what I was expecting, another mystery thriller. And it is, but it’s so different from ones I’ve watched. It also happened to be inspired from true life.

The entire movie is tense. You’re glued to the screen. You’re as confused as Burce (Ethan Hawke). What is the real truth? There are so many twists and turns in this film. You’re unsure which the red herring is.

Halfway through, I figured out the ‘villian’ in this film, but it was still a mystery to me. Knowing who wasn’t important. This film is great until the end.

Everyone in this film is great. Ethan Hawke is particularly fantastic in his role. He’s so believable and you really become emotionally invested in him.

Emma Watson is what I consider a quality actor which means she picks and chooses her roles carefully and you know it’s going to be good if she’s in it. And I was right. I can’t believe she managed to pull of playing seventeen year old though! Together, they steal the limelight.

To sum up, mysterious, complex plot, amazing actors, great ending.

Was it worth the watch? Yes, this is a film worth going to see.

Would I re-watch? No, this film relies on its mystery.

Starring: 5/6

Leave a Reply

