The Martian film review

UK release date: 30/9/15

Runtime: 141 minutes

Directed by: Ridley Scott

Starring: Matt Damon, Jessica Chastain, Kristen Wiig, Jeff Daniels, Michael Peña, Kate Mara, Sean Bean, Sebastian Stan, Aksel Hennie and Chiwetel Ejiofor

Anyone who has read a book and then gone on to watch the movie knows how rage inducing it is when they get it wrong, (which they do all too often unfortunately.)

Well, The Martian is an example of how to do it right!

The Martian opens with visually stunning scene and a subtle music score. It takes your breath away, kind of like what would happen if Mark Watney took off his space helmet. The breathtaking scenes continue throughout the entire film. It really is a beautiful film. I don’t know much about special effects, but any that were used was because they were needed.

Now the film is 141 minutes long. It has to be one of the longest films of the year and yet, it needs every minute of it. There are no lulls in this film.

The pacing is perfect and you will be on the edge of your seat, glued to it for the duration. I was and I’ve read the book! Don’t bother buying popcorn, you’ll forget all about it.

Like I said, this film stays true to the book, (except one bit at the end, but I’m not going to grumble.) They constantly nod at the book, the best being some of their soundtrack choices.

My viewing experience was heightened by the fact that I’d read the book too. It was wonderful watching things play out as they’d done in the book. It even added something which I mentioned in my book review as being a disappointment.

The actors were amazing. Matt Damon was stunning throughout and brought Mark Watney to life. In fact, I think he was a more real version of the character. His emotional reactions were more realistic.

The only actor who was subpar was Sean Bean, (I’m sorry, Sean Bean, I love you). He seemed uncomfortable in his role and was the only one who wasn’t true to the character’s personality in the book.

And one final thing before I do my sum up, thank you Ridley Scott for being true to the book and making an amazing film.

To sum up, amazing pacing, amazing actors, just amazing everything!

Is it worth the watch? Absolutely. If there’s one film you go to see at the cinema it is this one. It is the kind that is best appreciated on the big screen!

Would I re-watch? Yes, this is one film you need to own on DVD.

Stars: 6/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The Martian book review

5 thoughts on “The Martian film review

  1. CurtisFilmsAndTV 30/09/2015 / 6:35 pm

    Looking forward to seeing The Martian on Friday even more now after your review. I haven’t read the book so I’ll give a review from a ‘clean slate’ point of view 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jen! 30/09/2015 / 6:37 pm

      That’ll be interesting to read from someone who hasn’t read the book. It really is brilliant.

      I would say I hope you enjoy it, but I’m pretty sure you will so no need!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

