The visit film review

“Would you get in the oven to clean it?”

I don’t care who you are, if a woman you just met, even if it’s your grandma, ask you to climb into the oven, you’re not going to do it.

Going in, I was unaware it was one of those, ‘the main characters carry the camera around and shakes it all over the place’, films.

I’m not a fan of these kind of films . I detest the whole shaky camera thing to convey fear and find it unrealistic that they would continue to film. Me, I’d be launching the camera at whatever’s chasing me and hightail it out of there! To be fair, they did quite well with this aspect and it didn’t annoy me too much.

This horror film is a lot like all the other horror films I’ve seen this year, which is, unfortunately, not a good thing.

It has an interesting premise with a couple of mysteries you’re dying to figure out and a major plot twist near the end… if you make it that far that is, because, wow, this film dragged! It doesn’t really intensify quickly enough for me and the only thing that kept me in my seat was because a few things I was curious about.

It does, however, do a very good and weaving little clues in there that you don’t notice until near the end and go, aha, that makes sense!

The Grandparents, affectionally known as, Nana and Pop pop, were fantastic at being creepy, getting worse and worse as the movie progressed. I warmed up to the kids about halfway through, but still found their reactions to the situations highly unrealistic.

The last fifteen to twenty minutes are great. Things are revealed and get super intense, but it’s still not enough to make up for the rest of the film.

So to sum up, Grandparents are super creepy (and that’s awesome.), film dragged, unrealistic reactions.

Is it worth the watch? No, you will be annoyed with yourself if you pay to see this in the cinema. Wait until it comes on the TV if you must.

Will I re-watch? Nope!

Stars: 2/6

4 thoughts on “The visit film review

  1. CurtisFilmsAndTV 28/09/2015 / 10:34 pm

    Looks like M. Night Shyamalam has forgot how to make films like The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable?

    Like

    • Jen! 29/09/2015 / 6:07 am

      I’ve just found recent horror films lacking.

      And yes, this film was nowhere near as good as The Sixth sense and Unbreakable, (which are amazing!)

      Like

  2. Reel Review Dude 04/10/2015 / 4:23 pm

    It’s kinda sad as i was looking forward to seeing Shyamalam get back to what he used to be 🙂 great review!!

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 04/10/2015 / 4:32 pm

      I know. I find it hard that there could be good footage found films, but maybe that’s just because I’m not a fan those kind of films, and thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

