The Martian by Andy Weir book review

18007564

I’m stranded on Mars.

If the Oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate.

If the Water Reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst.

If the Habitat breaks, I’ll just kind of explode.

If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death.

This book does two great things straight off the launch, Ha! Get it? Because the main character is an astronaut…

ANYWAY!

Now, I’ll admit, I’m more of a fantasy, Sci Fi and horror kind of girl, which this is not. The reason I picked this book up is because I’d been intrigued by the film that’s soon to be released and that amazing blurb!

It is about survival and human nature, pure and simple. There are no scary aliens hiding underneath the sand waiting to jump out and devour you.

It did get its claws into me with a great beginning; it throws you straight into the action while immediately revealing the personality of our protagonist; two things that set this book off to a fantastic start.

Mark Watney is an upbeat, optimist which is a good thing because the poor guy is stranded all alone on Mars while everyone else thinks he’s dead. Dude’s having a real bad day. Shame it’ll get worse before it gets better, if it ever could get better, looking pretty bleak from my point of view.

Mark Watney often had me chuckling with great quips throughout the book. His wittiness is one of the great things about this book. In fact, the entire book was peppered with little moments that’ll have you chuckling.

The author clearly has a lot of knowledge about space, Mars, astronaut and what not. What Andy Weir is also good at, is making this understandable for someone who knows NOTHING about that kind of stuff in a way that didn’t make my head implode or fill me with the desire to claw out my eyeballs.

The book is written very well, written in both first and third person which Andy Weir executes well. I especially loved the third person segments and loved meeting all the other minor characters. They were fleshed out and well rounded. (Mindy, I loved you and you were my favourite.)

However, the ending left me feeling cheated. It was abrupt. After I finished the book, my first thought was, I read all that and that’s the ending you gave me? I honestly felt a little angry.

The book had been great up until that point. The ending pages had been tense and my eyes had been barely able to keep up to find out what happened, which is why I was so disappointed. In my opinion, it needed an epilogue.

So to sum up, great writing, great characters, disappointing ending.

Is it worth the read? Yes.

Would I re-read it? No.

Would I read this Author again? Yes.

Stars – 4/6 (With an epilogue I would’ve given this an 5.)

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The Martian film review

3 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir book review

  1. Jamie Yu 29/09/2015 / 6:24 pm

    This is very high on my to-read list. And the movie seems promising too so I’ll most likely watch it as well

    Like

    • Jen! 29/09/2015 / 6:26 pm

      It was a good read. I know a lot of people struggled with the scientific parts, but, while I didn’t understand a lot of it, it was still easy to follow.

      I’ll be watching The Martian tomorrow, fingers crossed it’s good.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

