Solace film review

UK release date: 25/9/15

Runtime: 101 minutes

Directed by: Afonso Poyart

Starring: Anthony Hopkins, Colin Farrell, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Abbie Cornish

This film is about a psychic who helps the FBI hunt down a serial killer. (To me, it’s much more than that.)

Solace dives straight into it. At least, it does at first, then it kind of beats around the bush. It’s like someone mumbling a lot.

The plot is very intriguing and what starts as a, ‘hunt down the killer’ plot becomes even more complex and eventually you’ll be compelled into thinking deeply about the killer’s motives and what you would do in their position. I loved that twist on the plot and it made it different to other films in the same genre.

The music cues confused me a lot in this. They seemed to play music just to attempt to make a scene seem tense for no reason. Don’t be a tease!

And the shaky cameras! Oh, how I hate this movie trick, drives me nuts. There was a scene where Anthony Hopkins and Abbie Cornish are facing each other and standing still. Yet, the camera kept wobbling as if the camera man had one too many or found it too heavy to hold. (I know they don’t actually hold them.) I don’t know if it was done on purpose or not, but it annoyed the heck out of me.

Anthony Hopkins was amazing from the moment he opened his mouth, and our killer was equally good, but we didn’t see too much of him, which was a real shame. All the other characters were only rememberable because I found them annoying. They seemed to be trying too hard and looked as if they were acting a movie. (You know what I mean.)

Now, near the end it started to pick up and I was expecting an exciting conclusion, but it failed to follow through. The end boggled me a little and my first thought was, “Well, what was the point of the entire movie if it ends like that?!”

So to sum up, interesting plot, great main character, poor execution, sucky ending.

Here’s a twist for you, my Dad, who went with me, thought the film was great, well made, and just generally liked and enjoyed it. (If you end up watching this, please let me know if you agree with me or my Dad about this film.)

Was it worth the watch? Yes, but watch it on TV. It is worth the watch for the thought provoking motives behind the murders.

Would I re-watch? Yes, if I was looking for a film I could casually watch.

Stars- 3/6

One thought on “Solace film review

Leave a Reply

