Everest film review

UK release date: 18/9/15

Runtime: 121 minutes

Directed by: Baltasar Kormákur

Starring: Jason Clarke, Josh Brolin, John Hawkes, Robin Wright, Emily Watson, Keira Knightley, Sam Worthington, Jake Gyllenhaal

I was excited about this film coming out. I mean, look at the cast, wowza! I had fun spotting all the well known actors.

Now, for me, the first half of this film kind of drags for me. They do a lot of setting up, which I suppose is needed, but, wow, it took a while. Yet, the second of the film was fast paced and super emotional. Let me tell you, I bawled. The second half of the film, and ending, more than made up for the slow beginning.

It isn’t as good as I expected, (because, of course, they showed all the best bits in the trailers.) Yet, it’s still worth watching.

Two actors, in particular stood out for me and that was Keira Knightley, (who knew she could do such a good New Zealand accent?!), and Jason Clarke who recently played John Connor in Terminator Genisys.

The music was perfect. There was a particular moment in the film, that pulled such a powerful response for me and I believe that to be down to the music that chimed in at that moment. There are several moments in this film that tear out your heart and stamp on it. By the end, you’ll be you wishing it hadn’t been based on a true story because only a film based on one could be as cruel and brutal as this.

So, to sum up, slow beginning, great music, some fantastic acting and an ending that’ll leave you walking around in a haze for the rest of the day.

Was it worth the watch? Yes.

Would I re-watch? No, (but only because it ruined me the first time!)

Stars – 4/6

2 thoughts on “Everest film review

Leave a Reply

